Under the high patronage of the municipality of Contern, ministry of culture and ministry of economy 

Author of the poster 2022: Etienne Willem

28th International Festival of Comic Books in Contern

Grand-Duché de Luxembourg

16 and 17 July 2022

On the weekend of 16 and 17 July 2022 Contern International Comics Festival will celebrate its 28th anniversary. After two years of restrictions we are happy to welcome our visitors for memorable moments of conviviality, entertainment for young and old, and all this under the sign of comics!

1.

Introduction…

About the Festival 2022

Programme 2022

What to do at the comic festival? Who is our target public?

Comic book fans? You will be spoilt for choice with over fifty authors representing Belgian, French, Luxembourgish, German, and British comics. With a wide selection of American comics, Franco-Belgian youth comics, fantasy comics, manga, and many more, there will be something for all tastes and ages. You will not only have the opportunity to meet your favourite artists, but also discover new ones and ask them for a signing.
You may also take a stroll through the streets of the village (which will be closed to traffic) or go bargain hunting for that missing tome in your collection at resellers’ booths.

Families looking for a convivial moment?

Throughout the weekend, we offer a programme full of activities for children, such as creative workshops, outdoor activities as well as a bouncy castle with the effigy of our Luxembourgish comic hero Superjhemp. Thanks to the Kidspass, children can collect stamps from various stands and thus discover the world of comics. There will also be street performers whose shows you can admire. Have a look at our photo gallery to get a feel for the festive atmosphere of our Festival!

All our activities are free!

And for everyone …

Contern Comic Festival is not only a comic festival, but also the perfect opportunity to meet your friends and relax over a drink while listening to our street musicians. Our local clubs and associations will provide the catering and help our visitors to feel at home.

2.

The authors – Etienne Willem in the spotlight

Authors

Authors 2022

This year, the cartoonist Etienne Willem is the honorary president of the Festival. Naturally he will be present all weekend and sign his newest publication. He created the poster of this year’s Festival, which features his main characters “Les artilleuses” with, as its backdrop Fond-de-Gras, a locality in the Luxembourgish municipality of Differdange. Every year our posters focus on the Luxembourgish heritage. Given Etienne Willem’s penchant for the world of steampunk, he was quick to suggest the Fond-de-Gras site—which, to this day, is the symbol of iron ore mining.

Alongside him, more than fifty authors will be at the ready for book signings over the two days of the Festival. This year we can count on the participation of Wallonie-Bruxelles International, whose mission is to promote the prominence of Belgian artists. As for our German neighbours, we joined forces with Dock 11 Saarland, who are also introducing their authors. These cooperations allow us to extend our noteworthiness and to become the stand-out comic festival of the Greater Region!

Check out our Facebook page or our Instagram account bdcontern to be up-to-date with our news.

See you soon!

What an atmosphere!

Gallery 2019

More images

Sous le haut patronage de la Commune de Contern, du Ministère de la Culture et du Ministère de l’Économie

Auteur de l’affiche 2022: Etienne Willem

28e Festival International de la Bande Dessinée à Contern

Du 16 au 17 juillet 2022

Le week-end du 16 et 17 juillet 2022 le Festival de la Bande Dessinée de Contern fêtera son 28e anniversaire. Après deux années de restrictions, nous sommes heureux de pouvoir accueillir nos visiteurs pour un moment de convivialité, de divertissement pour petits et grands et tout cela sous le signe de la BD !

1.

L’introduction…

À propos du Festival 2022

Programme 2022

Que faire au Festival de la BD ? Quel est notre public cible ?

Fans de BD ? Vous serez bien servis avec une palette de plus de 50 auteurs mettant la BD belge, française, luxembourgeoise, allemande et britannique. Les comics américains, la BD franco-belge, jeunesse, la BD fantastique, les mangas, il y en aura pour tous les goûts et tous les âges. Vous aurez la possibilité de rencontrer vos artistes préférés, mais également d’en découvrir de nouveaux et leur demander une dédicace.

Vous pourrez également flaner dans les rues du village (qui sera fermé à la circulation) et chiner dans les stands de revendeurs à la recherche du tome qui manque à votre collection.

Familles en quête d’un moment convivial ?

Nous proposons durant tout le week-end un programme pour les plus jeunes avec des ateliers créatifs, des activités en plein air comme un château gonflable à l’effigie de notre héros de BD luxembourgeois Superjhemp. Grâce à notre Kidspass, les enfants pourront récolter quelques tampons auprès de divers stands et découvrir ainsi le monde de la BD. Il y aura également des artistes ambulants dont vous pourrez admirer la prestation. N’hésitez pas à consulter notre galerie de photos pour vous imprégner de l’ambiance festive de notre Festival !

Toutes nos activités sont gratuites !

Et pour tous…

Le Festival de la BD, c’est bien évidemment la fête de la BD, mais c’est aussi une fête conviviale où l’on peut se retrouver entre amis pour se détendre autour d’un verre en écoutant nos musiciens de rue. Nos associations locales sont présentes pour assurer la restauration et pour mettre nos visiteurs à l’aise.

Laissez-vous tenter et venez découvrir par vous-mêmes Contern, le Village de la BD.

2.

Les auteurs – Etienne Willem à l’honneur

Auteurs

Auteurs 2022

Cette année, le dessinateur Etienne Willem est le président d’honneur du Festival. Il sera bien évidemment présent pendant les deux jours du Festival pour dédicacer ses nouveautés. C’est lui qui a créé l’affiche du Festival où l’on peut découvrir ses personnages-phares – les artilleuses – avec comme coulisse le Fond-de-Gras, lieu-dit de la commune luxembourgeoise de Differdange. Chaque année, nous mettons à l’honneur sur nos affiches le patrimoine luxembourgeois. Vu le penchant d’Etienne Willem pour le monde des Steampunks, il a très vite proposé le site Fond-de-Gras – qui reste encore aujourd’hui le symbole de l’extraction du minerai de fer.

A côté de lui, plus de 50 auteurs vous accueilleront pour des séances de dédicace pendant les deux jours du week-end. Cette année, nous pouvons compter sur la participation de Wallonie-Bruxelles international qui a pour mission de promouvoir entre autre la notoriété d’artistes belges. Du côté de nos voisins allemands, nous collaborons avec Dock 11 Saarland qui nous proposent eux aussi quelques auteurs. Ces coopérations permettent d’étendre notre notoriété et de faire de nous le Festival de la BD de la Grande Région !

Découvrez notre page Facebook ou notre compte Instagram bdcontern pour être à jour en ce qui concerne nos infos.

A très bientôt !

Quelle ambiance!

Gallerie 2019

Plus d'images